Atlas Genuis

17 Jan

I’ve been thorougly enjoying the “Alt Nation” station on my XM radio in my car and came across a lovely song a few weeks ago.  The first time I heard it, I was hooked.  And the hook quickly grew into an obsession.  Yes, Billy, I was obsessed.  (He thinks I use the word “obsessed” too much.)  The song?  Trojans by Atlas Genuis.

Listen to it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGmCjVbC1CY 

I dare you not to love it.

So, like everyone who is obsessed with a song, you buy it on iTunes and listen to it on repeat.  Then I decided I need to find out more about the band.  THEY DON’T EVEN HAVE A WIKIPEDIA PAGE! 

Then I decided I MUST see them in concert.  I mean, if a band is still small enough to not have a Wikipedia page, you can probably see them up close at a small awesome venue.  But then I was shocked again.  THEY ONLY HAVE ONE SONG!

After doing a little (fine, a lot) of research, I found out the following:

  • The are recording in Australia
  • 3 Australian brothers and 1 Englishman
  • No record label
  • All producing, writing, promoting is done BY THEMSELVES

My mind is blown.  How does an unsigned band get their one and only single on the Alt Nation XM station?  And then make it to number one? 

I give these guys mad props.

And I’ll be unpatiently waiting for a second single and tour dates.

Leave a Reply

