Is it Christmas yet?

29 Nov

We’re finally back in Texas!  And already ready to go back for Christmas.  It was SO nice having a long weekend and seeing a lot of family and friends.

In a nutshell, here is my Chicago recap.

Wednesday: Wake up at 4 AM with a sore throat.  I caught whatever sickness Billy had.  Ugh.  Arrive at the airport around 5:30 AM for our flight back to Chicago.  That night my sister, dad and Billy’s dad joined us for a few beers at the local Hinsdale bar, Bellouminis.

Thursday: Wake up, SO SICK!  Play an intense round of Turkeybowl and my team wins (obviously) for the millionth year in a row.  Later that day we attend 2 Thanksgivings and I can’t smell or taste a thing.  How depressing.  I did contribute my famous pumpkin bread and ate a lot of that because although I couldn’t taste it, I still knew it was good. 

Billy’s brother, Brett, is a Vegan.  He made a few Vegan dishes including cream of mushroom soup, mashed potatoes and creamed spinach.  I tried it all.  I figured, why not?  If it’s awful I can’t taste it anyway.

After we stuffed ourselves we headed over to my friend Rachel’s house.  We had a lovely time and found out some BIG news!  Jenny Rumpel is expecting a little Rumpel baby!  She is due in May.  We are so excited to all be aunts.

Friday: SLEEP IN.  Take lots of Mucinex.  Head to Target to get a black Friday special on Billy’s Christmas present.    Help my mom put up the Christmas snow village.  I specialized in making snow mountains by using a hot wire on styrofoam.  Highly entertaining.  We then head downtown to see Billy’s friends in the Wicker Park area and drive back that night.  I think we are getting too old to crash on couches because while that sounded like so much fun a few years ago, it now sounds terrible.  Sigh.

Saturday: SLEEP IN again.  Take some more Mucinex.  We were supposed to do fun downtown things this day but the rain had other plans for us.  We ended up laying low until the evening when we drove downtown again to see my friends at Nora’s cute apartment in Old Town.  Love them.

Sunday:  Watched the Bears game!  So disappointed in Hanie.  Had a DELICIOUS dinner at Cooper’s Hawk.  I’m addicted to their scallops and pretzel bread.  So good.

Monday:  Fly back!

Well, that’s all folks!  Hope you had as good of a Thanksgiving as I did!  (minus the getting sick part, sorry mom)

Leave a Reply

