Big things are happening

6 Sep

Since I last updated y’all on my Texas life (like that Texas “y’all” I threw in there?), we had a job change! Billy has officially left his job selling oil securities and has taken the bold first steps in creating his own business. His partner Nick and him have been working really hard at putting it all together. They will still essentially be selling investment opportunities, but the new focus is venture capital so they will be raising money for businesses. It’s also fun for me because I’ve been given the job of designing logos, business cards, cover sheets, etc. And I just love any excuse to play with Photoshop.

Since Billy left his paying job, we have been trying to cut back and be smart about money. We will be more than fine, in fact, San Antonio is one of the cheapest places to live, but we decided we could be smarter on some of our bills. Do we really need ALL the premium channels and highest internet package? No. So we canceled it. Well, we didn’t mean to completely cancel it this weekend, but thanks to the jerk at AT&T I ended up just canceling it all right away. I don’t appreciate getting attitude from the call center. I do have to admit, it has been quite the adjustment, but I’m actually starting to like it. Billy and I have been spending better, quality time together, we aren’t just sitting around and we are exploring new things! I even found out that if I sit on our porch I can get free internet if we really need it. Score. So that is where I’m sitting right now to type this.

One of our fun new adventures this weekend took place at the San Antonio missions. San Antonio is in the middle of a huge renovation along the riverwalk and they are about halfway done with a bike trail. We threw our bikes in the car and drove South to check it out. According to their website, “The chain of missions established along the San Antonio River in the 18th century is a reminder of one of Spain’s most successful attempts to extend its New World dominion from Mexico. Representing both church and state, these missions were charged with converting the local Native Americans, collectively called Coahuiltecans, into devout Catholics and productive members of Spanish society. More than just churches on the Spanish Colonial frontier, the missions also served as vocational and educational centers, economic enterprises involved in agricultural and ranching endeavors and regional trade. They were the greatest concentration of Catholic missions in North America and formed the foundation for what is today the thriving city of San Antonio.”

And another view:

And another by the chapel entrance:

It was beautiful! The missions are connected by the bike path and it’s so pretty riding along the river. We only stopped at 1 mission, the San Pedro Mission, but we passed another along the way which we will try to stop at next time. We ended up riding about 15 miles. I was definitely feeling it at the end.

Our halfway point was the Blue Star Brewery, a little microbrewery along the river. We stopped and had a beer, I tried the “Wheat Head” which was quite delicious, and then we biked back.

The downside to this glorious afternoon? The sports bra/tank top criss cross sunburn that is currently residing on my back. I don’t know if these lines will ever go away!

Leave a Reply

