M-I-Z

11 Aug

It’s August… which means football season is JUST around the corner.  My friend Megan tweeted this post last night from the Bleacher Report and I just had to share it as well.

College Football Preseason Rankings 2011:

The Top 25’s Best Game-Day Traditions

I’m not going to post every one, but I will list a few highlights.

22. Notre Dame: “Play Like a Champion Today”

I don’t like Notre Dame, so I think it’s funny that they are low on this list for a dumb tradition.  Footplayers slap the “Play like a champion” sign on the way out of the locker room?  Pretty lame.

10. Wisconsin: The Fifth Quarter

My friend Nora and all her Wisconsin friends that I have also befriended will love that they are in the top 10.  After each home game, the Wisconsin marching band plays the winning team’s school song to its fans, plays the other team’s song to their fans and then breaks out into playing fun, random songs for the next 15 minutes.

9. Texas: Bevo

Now that Billy and I live so close to Austin, I hope to see Bevo, the Longhorn’s living mascot, this year!

7. Georgia: Uga

I had to include this other living mascot simply because my sister’s boyfriend, Roberto, is obsessed with bulldogs.

4. Missouri: Harpo’s Goal Post

This one is number one in my book.  Tearing down the goal post after a big game and carrying it to Harpos.  I wish I were there when it happened against Oklahoma last year, but I did get to experience it when we beat Nebraska when I was in college.  Love it.

To see the full list, click here!  http://bleacherreport.com/articles/797481-college-football-2011-ranking-best-game-day-traditions-among-preseason-top-25?search_query=traditions

Leave a Reply

